The online retail giant has warned iOS users not to download the latest update to its Kindle app because of a glitch that wipes an existing customer’s entire library from the device. However, Amazon told CNET that it has already created a fix and is working to release it.
After downloading the update, existing Kindle users are logged out of their accounts, and everything they had downloaded is deleted from their devices. They also lose bookmarks and other settings, according to angry comments on iTunes. Users then have to log back in to Kindle and redownload their books from the cloud. Some are complaining that they had to delete the app entirely and download it again.
Here’s the warning, which is posted on the mobile app and in the online iTunes App Store: “Note: There is a known issue with this update. If you are an existing Kindle for iOS user, we recommend you do not install this update at this time.”
While the Kindle app comes with a warning, it’s easy for users to overlook. It’s posted in the area where the “What’s New” information is included. Some apps are updated so frequently and changes are so minor that users don’t even bother reading the details about what’s included before they hit download.
Kindle user Shannon Noel posted on iTunes this morning that the update erased all saved settings.
“Now I have to go through my hundreds of books to find the ones I haven’t read and change all of my screen settings,” the user wrote.
An Amazon spokeswoman told CNET that the company has identified the issue with the app update that may cause the app to become deregistered. She noted that to register again, users have to enter their Amazon account e-mail address and password and all content will be available in the cloud.
“We have submitted an update fix for this issue and are working with Apple to release,” she said.
Enjoy? Why Not Share It?